The estate commands stunning views of thesurrounding Loudoun County countryside from itshilltop above the North Fork of Goose Creek. Nestledin the shadow of nearby Mount Gilead, the propertyoverlooks the beautiful 35 acre Oliver Lake to the east,and has broad views to the west of the Blue Ridge.This former glebe house, originally an 18th-centuryfarm granted by England to the Anglican Church’s localparish, is on both the Virginia and National LandmarkRegisters. It remains one of the state’s handful ofColonial glebe houses and perhaps the only one forwhich original specifications survive. Its constructionbegan in 1773 by the builder Appolis Cooper, and theproperty’s acreage is still visible as it was in the 1700s.Although extensively remodeled and enlarged afterits sale to private owners in 1840, its Colonial brickwalls attest to the house’s early origins. The mainhouse boasts 4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 halfbathroom, and a 2-car garage on 3 finished levels(4,476 square feet) as well as an unfinished lower level(967 square feet).The gable-roofed, Flemish-bond brick buildresidence has interior and chimneys to which brickand frame wings have been added. The side-and-crimson light Greek Revival doorway, the Tuscan porchwith its two square pitched echoed by two pilasters, itsboldly projecting cornice, and extremely shallow gableroof, and the present Greek Revival interior woodworkmay all have been done at the same time as thisremodeling of the window openings in the 19th-century.The south facade, overlooking the creek, appears tohave been the original principal front. A two-baykitchen wing with a shallow gable roof and interior endchimney was added to the east end of the house, flushwith the north façade, sometime in the 19th-century.Door frames with bull’s-eye corner blocks survive onmost of the doors, and the stairway with itsramped-and-eased banister and squat turned newelpost dates from the 19th-century period as well. Atwo-story, brick addition plus a two car garage wereadded on the west end of the house in the 20th-century.Early outbuildings stand east and south of the house.A gable-roof, end-opening house with a stone firstfloor and a brick half-story made whole by a concreteblock addition lie southeast of the main house. Anicehouse with a stone foundation and frame-underweatherboard superstructure has a pyramidal hippedroof through the center of which a tall, frame watertower, square in plan, was intruded.Further east is a two-story guest cottage consistingof a stone first story, a frame second story, and a largecovered porch overlooking the lake. This charming 964square foot guest house includes two bedrooms, abathroom, a kitchen, and a laundry room. A modern bank barn was erected on what appearsto be old stone foundations and includes 6 stalls, tackroom, feed room, and 1 half bathroom on the lowerlevel with a hayloft above.Just behind the bank barn is one-car detachedgarage and 3-sided post and beam frame buildingboth currently used for farm equipment storage.The property is on both Virginia and National Land-mark Registers. It is in easement held jointly by VDHRand Loudoun County, and is located in the GooseCreek Historic District (a scenically cohesive rural areaof some 10,000 acres in central Loudoun County). Theproperty is in land use (Seller not responsible for rollback taxes).